Top Chef’s Giselle Wellman decides who should win Season 13

SheKnows: Who is your favorite Top Chef contestant of all time and why?

Giselle Wellman: It’s been a lot of fun to see friends on the show, [like] Chris Crary and Greg Gourdet.

SK: Were you surprised by your elimination?

GW: I was not surprised to be eliminated. I had mentally given up. One of the reasons I became a chef was because of my Aunt Jenny, who passed a couple weeks before I went to Top Chef. She worked at a school very similar to the one we cooked at for this challenge. When we arrived [at] the school, I mentally broke down. This was a very hard challenge for me mentally and a huge roller coaster of emotions that made it very hard to be fierce in the competition.

More: Top Chef may have just delivered on the worst dish ever (PHOTOS)

SK: What was it like working with all of the judges on the show?

GW: The judges were very helpful. Working alongside and getting to know them was one of the best parts.

SK: Which contestant do you think deserves to win? Or who are you rooting for?

GW: Kwame for president!

More: Top Chef fans love Kwame Onwuachi for not being a reality show jerk

SK: Who did you consider your biggest competition?

GW: Myself… My biggest struggle was that I was never really comfortable on the show.

SK: Was there anyone on the show you really clashed with? Who was it and why?

GW: I liked everyone. We all had our ups and downs, but in the end, they are family now.

SK: Who is your favorite out of the judges and why?

GW: Gail. Even though [when] watching the show I learn she is a big reason I was sent home, I think she’s great!

SK: Who do you think deserved to go home on last night’s episode?

GW: Phillip wanted to stay more than me, so I am OK with the outcome.

More: Top Chef contestants lose followers after wedding challenge behavior

SK: What was the best experience you had on the show?

GW: Proving to the Korean team I wasn’t a schmuck was my favorite.

SK: What was the biggest challenge for you on the show?

GW: Being away from my family in [a] time of grief. There wasn’t a day I didn’t think about my mom and my cousin who had just lost their sister [and] mother. It was so hard to have no communication with them, but most of all, I felt like I wasn’t there for them.

 

top chef contestants slideshow

Image: Bravo

Do you think Kwame deserves to win? Let us know in the comments below and be sure to tune into Top Chef next Thursday night at 10 PM ET/PT on Bravo.

Leave a Reply

